Instead of deleting a community you can transfer ownership of the community to another person. See how you manage members to invite a person and change their role to owner.
Go to your community settings. In the danger zone on the bottom of the page, click the Delete community button.
Confirm that you wish to permanently delete the community by:
The button will be enabled once you have completed (a) and (b).